Herwig Schopper

WAAS Designation: 
Two line Bio: 

Herwig Schopper is Chairman of Scientific Council of UNESCO International Basic Science Program since (2003) and Member of Board of Trustees of the Cyprus Institute and chairman of the Scientific Council (since 2002). He was President of SESAME Council (International Synchrotron Radiation Laboratory in Jordan for the Middle East) (1999-2008, now member), Member of Scientific Council of Joint Nuclear Research, Dubna, Russia (1993 –2002), President of German Physical Society (1992-94), President of European Physical Society (1994-96). He was Director-General of the European Organization for Nuclear Research CERN (1981-88), Chairman of the Association of German Research Centres (Helmholtz Association) (1977-79), Chairman of the Board of Directors, DESY, Hamburg (1973-80), Professor at the University Hamburg from 1973 until retirement in 1989. Presently he is Member of the German National Academy for Natural Sciences Leopoldina", Halle, DE; European Academy, London; Academia Scientiarium et Artium Europea, Salzburg, Austria. He is also Corresponding member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences, Munich; Honorary member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences; Fellow of the Institute of Physics, London; Fellow of the American Physical Society and Member of the Academy of Sciences, Lisbon. Herwig was the recipient of Niels Bohr Gold Medal of UNESCO-Denmark, UNESCO Albert Einstein Gold Medal in 2004, and several other distinguished awards. He has published more than 200 papers in refereed journals on Optics, Nuclear Physics, Elementary Particle Physics, Detector Development. Science and society, Science and Religion. Herwig holds a Diploma in Physics (1949) and Doctorate from Hamburg University (1951).

CV (upload file): 
Personal Statement: 

Herwig Schopper was born in Lanškroun, Czechoslovakia. He received his Diploma and Doctorate from the University of Hamburg, Germany, and is Professor Emeritus there. He was Research Assistant at the Technical University of Stockholm, Sweden, under Lise Meitner; the Cavendish Laboratory, Cambridge, UK, under Otto Robert Frisch; and the Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, USA, under Robert R. Wilson. His fields of work include Optics, Nuclear Physics and Elementary Particle Physics. He has held various professorships in Germany and has been involved in directing several research institutes at the national and international scales. He was the Director of the Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY), Hamburg, from 1973 to 1980 and the Director General of the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN), Geneva, Switzerland, between 1981 and 1988. He has been the President of the Association of German Research Centres (now the Helmholtz Association); the German and European Physical Societies; the Council of the International Centre for Synchrotron-Light for Experimental Science Applications in the Middle East (SESAME), Allan, Jordan; and the Scientific Boards of the UNESCO International Basic Sciences Programme (IBSP) and the Regional Office for Science and Technology for Europe (ROSTE). He is also Fellow of the Institute of Physics, London, UK; the American Physical Society; and various academies. His distinctions include Honorary Doctorates of the Universities in Erlangen, Germany; Moscow, Russia; Geneva; London; Dubna, Russia; and the Institute of High Energy Physics, Protvino, Russia. Besides, he has received the Grosses Bundesverdienstkreuz, Germany; the Grand Cordon of the Order of Independence, Jordan; the Great Cross of the Order of Merit, Cyprus; the American Institute of Physics Tate Medal; the UNESCO Albert Einstein Gold Medal; the Niels Bohr Gold Medal, Denmark; etc.

Geneva 23
Swiss Confederation
Elementary Particle physics, accelerator technology, IT,
Professional Areas of Interest: 
Science and economy and religion
WAAS Positions Held & When: 

 Board of Trustees